If you can't scream, have fun!

Ctulhu Who?

I am fan of Metallica and I used to listen to a song called ‘The Call of Ktulu’ when I was a teenager. I wasn’t bothered too much to find out what or who ‘Ktulu’ was since it’s quite normal for metal bands to name their songs with creepy names. The song itself was not much of a help neither since it’s an instrumental song, so no lyrics to give me any sort of idea. It took me 29 years for the curiosity to finally set in.

Who is Ktulu or Ctulhu? Cthulhu is a fictional cosmic entity who first appeared in the short story “The Call of Cthulhu”, published in the pulp magazine Weird Tales in 1928. The character was created by writer H. P. Lovecraft. More cool info follow this link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cthulhu

These are some awesome pics of Ctulhu:

Kraken-cthulhu

cthulhu_rising_by_somniturne1

Nightmarish creature indeed; a long way off of what I initially thought of Ctulhu as some dude coming from Africa. A perfect character for portrayal in horror movies but after some short research, to my amazement, there’s not that many movies having Ctulhu as the central character. The most endearing was this movie made in 2005 called ‘The Call Of Ctulhu’

And this one, in which Tori Spelling was part of the cast (that’s terrifying enough for me) and one that didn’t get that much TLC from the critics.

Honestly, in my opinion, a creature of this magnitude and rich history would command a sizeable audience of moviegoers if a big budget film is made by some big shot Hollywood producers. Wouldn’t you think? Look at the success of The Lord Of The Rings.

There are some monsters in Hollywood movies that looked (to me) a tad similar to Ctulhu namely, Ogdru Jahad from Hellboy

OgdruJahad

And this gruesome chap, Davy Jones from The Pirates Of The Caribbean (it does make sense to me now why on earth Davy Jones have octopus-like head, instead of a shark, a crab or other menacingly looking sea creatures)

Kraken_attacks_18_Davy_Jones

Do you have any idea of why Ctulhu is not made into a big budget Hollywood movie until this day?

2 responses

  1. Senescence

    Hey there, Earth Human.
    My name is Senescence, a vocalist for a Tennessee metal band. Our songs are themed around H.P. Lovecraft’s Cthulhu. I was wondering if I could use one of your pictures for our band’s facebook page that launches this week.. We will be making no money from the picture, seeing as it’s just a facebook cover, but we wish not to involve ourselves with the mortal affairs of “copyright infringement.” Please email me back asap. Thanks for your time and may the Black Winged One find you in his favor.

    June 30, 2013 at 10:34 am

    • Sorry for the late reply. You may use whatever pictures that I have in my blog and good luck. Maybe you could share with me some of your songs as well.

      July 3, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers